top of page
Search
  • ubcasal15

Reflection 4

The penultimate task of ENGL 301 was that the students had to create a Web Folio. A web folio is an online portfolio, which displays a collection of some of the best writing work done throughout the course.


Thoughts before the Folio

When beginning this assignment, I was very excited to show off my work. I had just finished my final exams for other courses and, I thought it was an easy fix. Just writing a few descriptions and linking previous documents to the buttons wouldn't be this difficult? But when I put pen to paper to begin planning it out, I found myself hesitant. I felt bombarded with self-doubt over my writing and whether it was good enough to be in the public eye. To avoid spiralling further, I decided to heed my peer's advice and search for some past web folios online to get a sense of how to present my work.


Looking at other Folios

When I searched for past web folios online, I was pleasantly surprised to find so many of them. Naturally, I visited those sites and read what each student had to say. Doing so allowed me to see things from a reader's perspective, which helped me decide how to present my folio to the world. Additionally, I reminded myself of how I constructed a blog at the beginning of this class and how much I enjoyed doing so.

These experiences combined gave me enough push to get started on the web folio.


Constructing the Folio

Like a storyboard, the web folio required all individual elements to be planned in advance and then consolidated onto a single website. It allowed me to practice and use all the skills picked up over this class to showcase an array of technical writing samples. Students were also allowed to re-edit their writing samples according to peer reviews and instructor feedback, which led me to review and reassess my work.

I had to make sure that my writing on the folio addressed a target audience and included details to make it clear and engaging.


Wrapping up the Folio

Constructing the web folio required a lot of organization and planning. As I put the final touches on my folio, I realized what an enjoyable task this was. I can now proudly look back and have tangible proof of my work and growth throughout ENGL 301 and can wrap up knowing that I have become a better writer.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page